Live in Glasgow, Scotland

Live in Glasgow, Scotland

Radio 3 in Concert

Live from City Halls
Presented by Kate Molleson

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra Season
Escape into Music

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Martyn Brabbins

D. Shostakovich: Concerto no. 2 in F major Op. 102

© BBC Radio 3

Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No 2 has one of those themes in the opening movement that many people know even if they could not identify its origin, but few will have heard it played in the highly percussive style Colli brought to it. His performance was completely captivating, through a more leisurely Romantic slow movement to the more familiarly frantic Shostakovich of the finale. It may be a fairly conventional work from the iconoclastic Russian, but Colli, who was very attentive to his fellow players on the platform and in close communication with the conductor, make it a very memorable one.
The Voice for Classical Music and Opera in Scotland